Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Weng Dao?
China History Forum, Chinese History Forum > Chinese History Topics > Ancient Chinese Arsenal
Aaron
I am currently looking at purchasing an antique weapon, called by this website as a Weng Dao (Willow Leaf Saber), but since I can't hold it and feel the weight and have a closer look at it, I would like to know some of the experts oppinions. (I would preffer Kenneth, however anyone knowledgeable in this area by all means reply.)

I know for most weapons, you get what you pay for and this is no exception. It comes at a hefty price tag of $2,600. Would you say this is a good buy, or should I look somewhere else. (Also could you reccomend a good place for purchasing antique daos. Preferably from the Qing dynasty.)

Here is a link with some pictures as well as the description. http://www.wle.com/antiques/ANT004.html

Any help is apprecieated.
Yang Zongbao
QUOTE (Wen Chou @ Nov 25 2007, 08:33 PM) *
I am currently looking at purchasing an antique weapon, called by this website as a Weng Dao (Willow Leaf Saber), but since I can't hold it and feel the weight and have a closer look at it, I would like to know some of the experts oppinions. (I would preffer Kenneth, however anyone knowledgeable in this area by all means reply.)

I know for most weapons, you get what you pay for and this is no exception. It comes at a hefty price tag of $2,600. Would you say this is a good buy, or should I look somewhere else. (Also could you reccomend a good place for purchasing antique daos. Preferably from the Qing dynasty.)

Here is a link with some pictures as well as the description. http://www.wle.com/antiques/ANT004.html

Any help is apprecieated.


I advise against anything by WLE.

They're best known for their wushu-y weapons. I know that this Weng Dao is supposed to be from their "Antiques", but from the kinds of myth that they spout about other weapons in their wushu section, I highly advise against it. They simply don't seem like very trustworthy businesspeople, with the kind of lore they have tried to propagate.

I recommend Seven Stars Trading or Huangchao armory for more reputable sellers.
Aaron
QUOTE (Yang Zongbao @ Nov 25 2007, 09:47 PM) *
I advise against anything by WLE.

They're best known for their wushu-y weapons. I know that this Weng Dao is supposed to be from their "Antiques", but from the kinds of myth that they spout about other weapons in their wushu section, I highly advise against it. They simply don't seem like very trustworthy businesspeople, with the kind of lore they have tried to propagate.

I recommend Seven Stars Trading or Huangchao armory for more reputable sellers.



I don't know why they would sell it for over 2 grand if it was wushu-y, but I see what you're saying. I'll check out the two places you recommended, thanks for your help.

Yang Zongbao
The Weng-Dao doesn't look Wushu-y. But I am of the opinion from looking at the stuff they write that they would write anything to boost the price up to two grand.

Aaron
QUOTE (Yang Zongbao @ Nov 25 2007, 10:38 PM) *
The Weng-Dao doesn't look Wushu-y. But I am of the opinion from looking at the stuff they write that they would write anything to boost the price up to two grand.



True enough, which is why I am going to be looking somewhere else. Though I have purchased one of their horse knives (their name for a zhanmadao) as well as training video, and it is quite sturdy, and upon getting it sharpened by a smith that I know, I was able to test cut with it and it did make some nice clean cuts without any restrictions to my movement which was nice and fluid.
josh stout
QUOTE (Wen Chou @ Nov 25 2007, 11:04 PM) *
True enough, which is why I am going to be looking somewhere else. Though I have purchased one of their horse knives (their name for a zhanmadao) as well as training video, and it is quite sturdy, and upon getting it sharpened by a smith that I know, I was able to test cut with it and it did make some nice clean cuts without any restrictions to my movement which was nice and fluid.


Well I am able to post again, so I can tell you I am glad you decided not to buy the fake antiques. Every sword on the site is fake and not worth 10% of the asking price. The sites above mentioned are excellent sources, as is Mandarin Mansions.
Josh
Yang Zongbao
QUOTE (josh stout @ Nov 27 2007, 07:51 PM) *
Well I am able to post again, so I can tell you I am glad you decided not to buy the fake antiques. Every sword on the site is fake and not worth 10% of the asking price. The sites above mentioned are excellent sources, as is Mandarin Mansions.
Josh


Hmm, I always suspected WLE was untrustworthy. But what gave away the fakeness of the swords? Was it the strange patina?
josh stout
QUOTE (Yang Zongbao @ Nov 27 2007, 09:40 PM) *
Hmm, I always suspected WLE was untrustworthy. But what gave away the fakeness of the swords? Was it the strange patina?


Well there are a few secrets of what to look for, but the most obvious thing is it looks brand new. As you say the "patina" on the fittings is not correct, but the fullers are also cut badly, the fittings themselves are a bit crude and ugly, the lacquer looks modern, and the edge plate does not look correct. It is also missing any signs of pattern welding and pitting along the fold lines. Nor are there any signs of small errors in the forging process or other signs of old style forging. These things taken together lead me to be quite sure this and the others are all fakes.
Josh
Yang Zongbao
Ah, yes. I found the fittings to be ugly too, but the rust looked confusing--half chrome, half rust. :lol But the subtler details confused me.

Well, now that we know they're fakes...that's a charming little story about the "Royal Guard" that they wrote. :/
Aaron
This thread has served two purposes, one.... it's disuaded me from purchasing the sword (also in part to Mr. Stout's Private Messages). But let it be known to everyone that antiques from WLE are fakes, and they are simply misleading people. I won't be purchasing anything from them anymore.
Mok
Just had a look at WLE. Antique weapons could never sell those prices. They'd probably be at Christie's or Sotheby's, not the Internet.

Replica weapons seems more likely. I have nothing against replica weapons - just don't claim they are antiques. dry.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.